Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IPA Library Electronic Resources: Home

EBSCO Business Source Complete

EBSCO Business Source Complete

This is a searchable database which provides full-text access to more than 7,400 scholarly business journals, covering management, public management, economics, finance and accounting. Coverage dates back to 1965 or the first published issue in many cases. Students should log into Business Source Complete directly from their Moodle account

If you would like to view the online tutorial before searching Ebsco Business Source Complete, please click on the link below.
EBSCO Basic Search Tutorial

Additionally, there is an Advanced Search tutorial available. Please click on the following link. EBSCO Advanced Tutorial
 

Emerald Insight

Emerald Insight

Emerald Insight provides access to more than 50,000 full text articles, 185,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies and interviews. The entire database can also be searched to identify articles on a particular subject.

If you would like to see a user guide for searching Emerald, please click on the following link Emerald Tutorial
Students should log into Emerald via their Moodle account.

If you are a current IPA student or staff member, and require a password for external access, please contact the library by e-mail - library@ipa.ie. Students should state what course they are taking.

Free Online Resources

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) Provides access to ebooks in a wide range of subjects i.e. Social Sciences, Health Sciences and Political Science. Good filters for narrowing search. Please click here to access.

Open Book Publishers (OBP) Provides access to books in the social sciences and humanities areas. Please click here to access.

Dictionary of Irish Biography Provides access to approximately 11,000 biographies of noteworthy Irish people who are no longer living. Please click here to access.

JSTOR Open Access E-Books Selection of Open Access Monographs from Cornell University Press, UCL - University College London, Michigan University Press and California University Press. Please click here to access.

NCBI Bookshelf (National Centre for Biotechnology Information) Provides titles in Life Science and Healthcare. Good online search filters i.e language, location, year range. User tutorials. Please click here to access.

InTech Provides good titles in Social Science, Humanites and Environmental Science. (Largely Science and Tech titles). Please click here to access.

HathitTrust Digital Library Amalgamation of research material from academic institutions and libraries. Mainly US publications out of copyright. Please click here to access.

Internet Archive National Emergency Archive. Full text access to books published in the US. Access provided for duration of COVID-19 epidemic. Please click here to access.

Project Gutenberg Access to over 40,000 free ebooks. Please click here to access.

Google Books Provides full text access to some book titles and previews and chapters of others. Please click here to access.