The Oxford Handbook of AI Governance by
As the capabilities of Artificial Intelligence (AI) have increased over recent years, so have the challenges of how to govern its usage. Consequently, prominent stakeholders across academia, government, industry, and civil society have called for states to devise and deploy principles, innovative policies, and best practices to regulate and oversee these increasingly powerful AI tools. Developing a robust AI governance system requires extensive collective efforts throughout the world. It also raises old questions of politics, democracy, and administration, but with the new challenges posed by AI's growing influence on markets, governing structures, international relations, healthcare, science, and political activism.
The Oxford Handbook of AI Governance delineates the scope of these issues and addresses the key questions of AI governance. Across forty-nine chapters, organized in nine major sections, the Handbook covers the theoretical and ethical foundations of AI governance, different frameworks for developing a governance structure for AI, practical perspectives on AI governance in different policy domains, economic analyses of AI governance, and concrete lessons about the impact of AI governance domestically and internationally. Chapter authors come from a wide set of disciplines, areas of study, and cultural backgrounds, providing a global perspective on AI governance.
Human Rights by
Human Rights: Theory and Practice is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary text written by a global team of experts with coverage and content unrivaled by any other text on the market. With contributions from an international panel of experts, including political scientists, lawyers, philosophers, and policy-makers, this text is unmatched in its ability to provide students with a practical, comprehensive and 21st century perspectives on the theory, study and practice of human rights. In addition to in-depth theoretical content, the book features unrivaled coverage of human rights issues in practice, with a wide range of case studies allowing students to explore true-to-life examples from around the world. There are also dynamic pedagogical features that encourage critical analysis, challenge students to question their assumptions, and facilitate class dialogue on key issues. This text comes to us as a highly-respected and successful OUP UK title. With high export sales to the US in previous editions, it is poised to continue its sales growth as an OUP USA title. The fourth edition will be brought fully up-to-date, with new readings centered on recent and relevant issues. The proposed revisions and title change (from “Politics and Practice”) will reposition the text as an interdisciplinary examination of human rights, rather than strictly political science-centric. This change will make known to a broader market what current users have noted: this text is applicable to a range of courses and disciplines, such as Philosophy and graduate level courses. Section I will be reorganized to remove the critical chapter, following reviewer feedback, and to focus more on theory as it relates to different areas of study (Philosophy, Law, Social Practice, Politics, etc.). Section II will follow its existing format, focused on practice, with new and updated readings related to the Black Lives Matter movement, women's rights, the refugee crises, and genocide, among others.
A Multidisciplinary Approach to Pandemics by
Pandemics have quickly become one of the most important subjects of the twenty-first century. This edited volume provides a comparative analysis of the ways in which pandemics are theorized and studied across several disciplines. A Multidisciplinary Approach to Pandemics has two objectives: first, to explore the growing diversity of theories and paradigms developed to study pandemics; and second, to initiate a multidisciplinary dialogue about the ontological, epistemological, paradigmatic, and normative aspects of studying pandemics across disciplines. The study of pandemics is not new. Yet despite the volume of research interest in a host of academic fields, scholars rarely talk across the disciplines. This study seeks to fill that gap by attempting to bridge disciplinary canyons. Eager to encourage this arena of conversation, this book brings together in a single volume essays by political scientists, environmental scholars, legal scholars, clinical pharmacists, economists, scholars of urban planning, scholars in health and medicine schools, and researchers in business and management.
Routledge Handbook of Climate Law and Governance by
Courage, Contributions and Compliance: The Routledge Handbook of Climate Law and Governance recognises calls from the United Nations (UN), the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The elders, and others, for climate justice and urgent action, and convenes insights from leading legal and institutional experts, professors, professionals and early career scholars on emerging climate law and policy challenges, commitments and solutions.
The collection explores the role of law and governance in scaling up global responses to climate change and advancing sustainability. Based on careful study of international advances and the full spectrum of Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) to the global response to climate change, as submitted by Paris Agreement Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the volume compiles a compelling, coherent and systematic topical account from across diverse legal jurisdictions. Analytical chapters by leading experts, practitioners and scholars close to ongoing climate negotiations explore recent legal and institutional innovations related to climate change which can support implementation and compliance with the Paris Agreement and advance the global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). They highlight ways to raise ambition through law and policy, to reform national legal and institutional arrangements to implement NDCs and to further develop international law and governance in the face of the existential threat of climate change and the world: sustainable development commitments.
Presenting a pathway for advancing climate ambition in the coming decades, this book will be of interest to government officials, academics, students, professionals and policy makers working in the area of climate law and governance.
Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management by
Armstrong's Handbook of Strategic Human Resource Management is a complete guide to understanding how and why organizations integrate HR strategies to achieve and sustain their competitive advantage.
This fully revised, practical guide contains new chapters on the foundation of strategic HRM, employee wellbeing strategies and HR analytics, as well as real-world examples and updated wider content to reflect the latest research and thinking. Now in its eighth edition, this book includes practical insights and in-depth coverage of HRM strategies in key areas such as employee engagement, talent management and learning and development, as well as strategic HRM approaches in an international context. It's supported by key learning points, key questions and real-life examples from organizations such as Boots, UNICEF and GKN.
It remains an indispensable resource for both professionals and those studying HR qualifications, including undergraduate and masters' degrees and the CIPD's advanced level qualifications. Online resources include PowerPoint slides and comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students which includes self-assessment questions, case study exercises and literature review.
Coaching and Mentoring by
How can coaching and mentoring approaches be applied in individual, team and organizational contexts to increase performance? Coaching and Mentoring offers a complete resource for developing and implementing the latest theories and models in your organization.
Featuring tips, tools and checklists throughout, this book covers all the key aspects of the process, from delivering feedback that builds confidence and success and observant listening to evaluating the effectiveness of initiatives and coaching supervision. Guidance is also provided on how to support people in their learning, getting buy-in from stakeholders and creating a coaching culture. Drawing upon insights from a number of experienced coaching and mentoring professionals, it also features case studies from the NHS and the CIPD's Steps Ahead mentoring programme to show how these approaches have been applied in practice.
This fully revised fourth edition of Coaching and Mentoring contains a new chapter on group and team coaching and further material on systemic coaching and how to use coaching for diversity and inclusion. Featuring updates to case studies and wider research, coaches and mentors of all levels of experience and those studying coaching and mentoring will benefit from this definitive text.
Equality. What it means and why it matters by
In this compelling dialogue, two of the world’s most influential thinkers reflect on the value of equality and debate what citizens and governments should do to narrow the gaps that separate us. Ranging across economics, philosophy, history, and current affairs, Thomas Piketty and Michael Sandel consider how far we have come in achieving greater equality. At the same time, they confront head-on the extreme divides that remain in wealth, income, power, and status nationally and globally.
What can be done at a time of deep political instability and environmental crisis? Piketty and Sandel agree on much: more inclusive investment in health and education, higher progressive taxation, curbing the political power of the rich and the overreach of markets. But how far and how fast can we push? Should we prioritize material or social change? What are the prospects for any change at all with nationalist forces resurgent? How should the left relate to values like patriotism and local solidarity where they collide with the challenges of mass migration and global climate change?
To see Piketty and Sandel grapple with these and other problems is to glimpse new possibilities for change and justice but also the stubborn truth that progress towards greater equality never comes quickly or without deep social conflict and political struggle.
A Tract for Our Times by
In 1989 renowned historian J. J. Lee published his magnus opus, Ireland 1912–1985: Politics and Society (Cambridge University Press). Not only had Lee written a classic, but he also managed to transcend the reach of the academy when the book became a highly popular bestseller which went into over a dozen reprints, sold in the multiple thousands and won an array of awards. Such was the reach of the book that Lee, along with Professors Terence Brown and Gearóid Ó Tuathaigh, appeared on a segment of over half an hour on The Late Late Show early in 1990. Three decades on, the purpose of this collection is to honour Lee’s contribution to historical scholarship by gauging the impact of Ireland 1912–1985 as a historical analysis and social commentary through the contributions of a dozen of the leading historians of modern Ireland. Simultaneously, these essays measure the applicability of Ireland 1912–1985’s historiographical and methodological approach to more recent history. Almost all of the contributors trained as historians with this book as a touchstone text and so it is fitting for each author revisit drawing on the tools of their own field of expertise.
Lee’s stature as a sought-after public intellectual and a widely published scholar, combined with the profile of contributors, makes A Tract for Our Times essential reading for anyone interested in the trajectory of Ireland in the twentieth century, as well as for those readers who are interested in the craft and practice of history writing.
Fragments of victory: The contemporary Irish left by
‘Written by activists, this book tells stories of Irish movements and left groups as a key resource for struggles elsewhere’ Laurence Cox, author of We Make Our Own History
‘The authors’ sympathies sharpen their critical analysis of the left’s victories and defeats. There is much to learn here’ Paul Murphy TD, People Before Profit
‘Captures the sheer energy and diversity of the Irish left at grassroot level and in key campaigns’ Conor McCabe, researcher and editor of The Lost and Early Writings of James Connolly 1889-1898
There is much to learn from modern leftwing activism in Ireland. A rich tapestry of movements, including republicans, social democrats, trade unions, Trotskyists and anarchists, have battled neoliberalism and austerity with vigour, frustration, success and failure.
Fragments of Victory charts these political currents, from the difficult early years of anti-austerity campaigning to the seismic victory of ‘Repeal’ – the campaign for women’s reproductive rights. Each chapter covers a different campaign or group, written by leading activists who provide insiders’ perspectives on how history was made, and share valuable insights that can be applied to international movements everywhere.
Oisín Gilmore is Senior Economist at TASC (Thinktank for Action on Social Change) in Dublin, Ireland. He has participated in various social movements in Ireland, Britain and continental Europe.
David Landy is Assistant Professor at Trinity College Dublin. He is the author of Jewish Identity and Palestinian Rights, and co-editor of Enforcing Silence: Academic Freedom and Criticism of Israel.
Resourcing and Talent Management. The theory and practice of recruiting and developing a workforce by
Covering the recruitment, selection and retention of staff as well as retirement, dismissals and redundancy, this is an essential textbook for the CIPD Advanced module in Strategic Resourcing and Talent Management.
Resourcing and Talent Management outlines the key topics needed by HR master's students in their study of people resourcing and staff development. It covers everything from job design and both internal and external recruitment through to interviewing, selection and contracts of employment. There is also guidance on staff retention, succession planning and coverage of how staff leave the business whether through retirement, redundancy or dismissal.
This ninth edition now includes new content on strategies for performance management and resourcing and talent management, guidance on upskilling staff when the skills the business needs are constantly evolving and additional material on the continuation of hybrid and remote working. Fully updated throughout, this textbook includes 'explore further' boxes to encourage students to read more deeply, reflective questions to support reflection on learning and activities to put their learning in practice and test their understanding. Online resources include lecturer manuals, PowerPoint slides and additional weblinks.
Modern Economic Regulation by
Economic regulation affects us all, shaping how we access essential services such as water, energy and transport, as well as how we communicate with one another in the digital world. Modern Economic Regulation describes the core insights of economic theory on which regulatory policies are based and connects this with evidence of how regulation is applied. It focuses on fundamental questions such as: why are certain industries regulated? What principles can inform regulation? How is regulation implemented? Which regulatory policies have been more, or less, effective in practice? All chapters in this second edition are fully updated to reflect the latest research and evidence, while five new chapters cover behavioural economics and the regulation of rail, aviation, payment systems and digital platforms. Each chapter contains discussion questions and topical case studies, and online materials include over 60 applied exercises that explore real-life regulatory problems from around the world.
Environmentally Sustainable Leadership. Past present and future by
Benjamin Redekop expertly presents a comprehensive overview of the rise and evolution of environmentally sustainable leadership from the early 19th century to the present day. Redekop not only assesses the approaches of various historical and contemporary leaders, but also provides a foundation for understanding the challenges, dilemmas, and opportunities for sustainable leadership today.
Through the lens of contemporary theories and models of leadership, including the Eco-Leadership paradigm, this erudite book highlights the development of various forms and styles of sustainable and unsustainable leadership. Incorporating real-world examples, chapters provide in-depth analyses of individual leaders and their influence while paying close attention to other factors in the leadership process. Redekop explores the notion of environmentally sustainable leadership from numerous perspectives and in a variety of historical, geographical, and theoretical settings.
This book will prove essential to researchers, academics and students interested in business and management, politics and public policy, business leadership, corporate social responsibility, management and sustainability, and environmental management. It will also appeal to those looking to better understand environmental leadership and the history of the environmental movement.
Democratic Delusions by
A free media is inextricably linked to a healthy democracy, but in many parts of the world liberal democracies are deemed to be dying or on the demise – a demise that many forms of media have enabled while heralding themselves as democracy’s saviour. The hollowing out of democracy in these ways has left many people questioning the value of (neo)liberal democratic societies. What can we do about it?
Democratic Delusions explores the potential of our media and tech systems to be democratic and contribute to a just and transformative democracy. This is only possible, Natalie Fenton argues, by first situating our political systems and mediated worlds within global capitalism. By interrogating different media and their relationship to seven key elements of democracy – power, participation, freedom, equality, public good, trust, and hope – the book asks: What is the response of society when the ability of news media to speak truth to power has been restricted by corporate logic? And, how do we tackle a deep-rooted market logic that shifts public debate towards private interest and marginalizes progressive perspectives? The book explores how these elements can be reimagined through newly conceived media and tech landscapes and, ultimately, what democracy might be in a future mediated world that places more power in the hands of more people.
This is essential reading for students and scholars of media and communications, journalism, political communications, political science, and sociology.
The Bailout State. Why governments rescue banks and not people by
How did we end up in a world where social programs are routinely cut in the name of market discipline and fiscal austerity, yet large banks get bailed out whenever they get into trouble?
In The Bailout State, Martijn Konings exposes the inner workings of this sprawling infrastructure of government guarantees. Backstopping financial markets and securing banks’ balance sheets, this contemporary Leviathan manages the inflationary pressures that its generosity produces by tightening the financial screws on the rest of the population.
To a large extent, the bailout state was built by progressives seeking to buttress the institutions of the early postwar period. The resulting tide of capital gains fostered an asset-centered politics that experienced its heyday in the nineties. But ever since the financial crisis of 2007-08, promises of inclusive economic growth have looked increasingly thin. A colossus locked in place, the bailout state disburses its benefits to a rapidly shrinking group of property owners. Against the backdrop of a ferocious post-pandemic turn to anti-inflationary policy, the only remaining way to exit the logic of the bailout, Konings argues, is to challenge the monetary drivers at the heart of capitalist society.
Inside Rural Ireland. Power and change since independence by
In the early decades of native rule rural Ireland – and in particular the new farmer-owners who had emerged as the major winners in the recent agrarian revolution – exerted a considerable influence over the new Free State and over Irish Catholicism. Patriarchal power on the land had been strengthened by the transfer of land ownership from landlord to tenantfarmer and was given further strength by patriarchal Catholicism and patriarchal nationalism. After 1932 the strides protected import-substituting industrialisation was making never went nearly far enough to threaten agriculture’s economic primacy or the countryside’s central position in Irish society. Inspired by the traumatic experience of severe crisis conditions in the 1950s, a transformation that set southern Ireland on the path of urban industrialism commenced in earnest in the 1960s.
What emerges is that the power of the state to promote rural change has at once contracted and expanded in the years since Ireland joined the EEC in 1973. Views are divided as to how urban industrialism has impacted on different rural interests. Throughout much of the period since the 1950s the power of organised farmers to represent Irish farming interests remained high as those working the land continued to dwindle in number. In recent decades the always limited power of clerical activists and intellectuals to restructure rural civil society along Catholic (or even Christian) lines has undergone further decline. Most recently the prospects for farm women increasing their relative power have arguably improved the most in certain respects, even if land ownership still remains stubbornly and overwhelmingly in male hands.
Inside Rural Ireland delves deeply into the evolution of Ireland’s rural history to explore rural Ireland before and after these momentous transitions by examining the power of ruling politicians and state bodies, farmers, clerical and non-clerical civic activists, intellectuals (social commentators as well as fiction writers), returned emigrants, and farm women to promote or impede a wide range of rural changes.
Developing Rural Ireland. A history of the Irish Agricultural Advisory Service by
Rural Ireland and its agricultural way of life are emblematic of this country. For most of modern history, however, rural Ireland and Irish agriculture were comparatively underdeveloped. This changed dramatically in the twentieth century, during which they were transformed. In 1900 they were synonymous with poverty; by 2000 they had become synonymous with progress. Many people and organizations contributed to this, but chief among these were the Irish agricultural advisory services.
First established in the early 1900s, they are today operated as a public service by Teagasc, Ireland's Agriculture and Food Development Authority. With their establishment, agricultural instructors, trained to the highest international standards, were dispatched to every community in rural Ireland. Their brief was to work with farmers, helping them to improve their farm enterprises and, in so doing, to develop rural Ireland. This gradually bore fruit, as each succeeding generation of agricultural advisors and farmers cooperated to adopt the most modern agricultural approaches. This book tells their story.
Who's Afraid of the Welfare State Now? by
This book primarily explores the welfare-policy responses to the Great Recession, reform trajectories that swept across Europe over the last decade, with a final chapter that focuses on Covid-19 welfare management. The 2008 crash marked a critical stress test for European welfare states with dramatic repercussions, including a massive surge in unemployment, a widening in wage and income disparities, and rising poverty. Hikes in fiscal deficits and public debt, required to pre-empt an economic meltdown, forced policymakers to make painful cuts in welfare services to shore up public finances, thereby jeopardizing welfare support for vulnerable groups. The overall scope of welfare-policy responses is heterogeneous, disparate, and uneven. In some cases, the response to the Great Recession was accompanied by deep social conflicts, while in others unpopular crisis-management measures received broad consent from opposition parties, trade unions, and employer organizations. Alongside serious retrenchments, there have been assertive attempts to rebuild social programmes and institutions, to accommodate policy repertoires-not merely domestically but also at the EU level-to the new realities of the knowledge economy and an ageing society. Overall, the long 2010s showed that the future of work and welfare is in our hands: it is perfectly possible to shape this future in such a way as to provide inclusive social security, achieve high employment, advance and maintain human capabilities across the life-course, and fight poverty and inequality.
Contract law in Ireland by
Contract law serves as the cornerstone of commercial and personal interactions in Ireland, underpinning the relationships and transactions that define our society. Law of Contract in Ireland offers an in-depth exploration of this vital legal area, tailored specifically for students navigating the intricacies of Irish law.
This book delves into the fundamental principles of contract law, elucidating the key concepts and doctrines that govern contractual agreements in Ireland. It provides a clear and concise framework to understand the formation, interpretation, and enforcement of contracts, offering students a robust foundation for further study and professional practice.
Key Features Include
Historical Context: The book commences with an exploration of the historical development of contract law in Ireland, tracing its evolution from common law traditions and statutory enactments to contemporary jurisprudence.
Formation of Contracts: A detailed examination of the essential elements required for the formation of a legally binding contract is provided. This encompasses offer and acceptance, consideration, intention to create legal relations, and capacity of the parties.
Terms of the Contract: This book offers insights into the classification and interpretation of contractual terms, including express, implied, and collateral terms, as well as the role of representations and warranties in contractual agreements.
Vitiating Factors: Students are introduced to the vitiating factors that can invalidate or affect the enforceability of a contract, such as misrepresentation, mistake, duress, and undue influence.
Discharge and Remedies: Law of Contract in Ireland elucidates the various methods by which a contract may be discharged, including performance, agreement, frustration, and breach. It also examines the remedies available to parties in the event of a breach of contract, including damages, specific performance, and injunctions.
Contemporary Issues and Case Law: Law of Contract in Ireland incorporates recent developments and landmark decisions in Irish contract law, providing students with a contemporary perspective on the subject matter and enhancing their critical analysis skill.
To facilitate effective learning and comprehension Law of Contract in Ireland employs a range of pedagogical tools and features:
Case Studies: Real-world case studies and scenarios are integrated throughout the text to illustrate the application of legal principles in practice and encourage students to engage in critical thinking and problem-solving.
Chapter Summaries: Each chapter concludes with a concise summary of the key concepts and principles covered, enabling students to consolidate their understanding and reinforce their learning
Housing, architecture and the edge condition: Dublin is building 1935-1975 by
This book presents an architectural overview of Dublin’s mass-housing building boom from the 1930s to the 1970s. During this period, Dublin Corporation built tens of thousands of two-storey houses, developing whole communities from virgin sites and green fields at the city’s edge, while tentatively building four-storey flat blocks in the city centre. Author Ellen Rowley examines how and why this endeavour occurred. Asking questions around architectural and urban obsolescence, she draws on national political and social histories, as well as looking at international architectural histories and the influence of post-war reconstruction programmes in Britain or the symbolisation of the modern dwelling within the formation of the modern nation.
Critically, the book tackles this housing history as an architectural and design narrative. It explores the role of the architectural community in this frenzied provision of housing for the populace. Richly illustrated with architectural drawings and photographs from contemporary journals and the private archives of Dublin-based architectural practices, this book will appeal to academics and researchers interested in the conditions surrounding Dublin’s housing history.
Police Diversity by
Providing a unique ‘insider’ perspective on police diversity, this book reveals the current tensions between the police and diverse populations in the UK and US. It demonstrates the obstacles to progress, revealing how championing diversity as part of police reform efforts can positively impact the lives of policed communities.
Changemakers by
Crafted for those who dare to challenge the status quo, this revolutionary guide asks crucial questions about organising and social movements in the 21st century. Drawing from frontline experiences of activists, it explores essential themes from leadership to the art of negotiation, empowering changemakers of today for a more just world.
Comparative Government and Politics by
What are the markers of authoritarian and democratic states – and all those that fall somewhere in-between? How do principles, institutions and political processes differ from state to state? And what can we learn from political comparison on a global scale?
Comparative Government and Politics offers a compelling and accessible introduction to the subject. This book will help you to understand the wide range of institutions and political cultures across the world, including: the common essential elements and levers of a state, how democratic and authoritarian regimes operate internally and on the global stage, and the relationship between a population and a polity. An essential text for courses on Comparative Politics, Comparative Government, Introduction to Politics and Introduction to Political Science.
This Thirteenth Edition includes:
· An increased focus on themes of democratic reversal and declining trust
· Coverage of contemporary topics with new and extended coverage of LGBTQ+ issues, identity politics and populism
· New and updated country spotlights, reflecting the changing state of democracy across the world
· An accessible design for students of all levels, with maps, diagrams and tables, discussion questions and further reading suggestions
How big things get done. The surprising factors behind every successful project., from home renovations to space exploration by
Best Books of 2023 in The Financial Times
Shortlisted for Financial Times and Schroders Business Book of the Year 2023
‘Important, timely, instructive and entertaining’ – Daniel Kahneman, bestselling author of Thinking, Fast and Slow
'Entertaining . . . compelling . . . there are lessons here for managers of all stripes' – The Economist
Megaproject expert Bent Flyvbjerg and bestselling author Dan Gardner reveal the secrets to successfully planning and delivering ambitious projects on any scale.
Nothing is more inspiring than a big vision that becomes a triumphant new reality. Think of how Apple’s iPod went from a project with a single employee to an enormously successful product launch in eleven months. But such successes are the exception. Consider how London’s Crossrail project delivered five years late and billions over budget. More modest endeavours, whether launching a small business, organizing a conference, or just finishing a work project on time, also commonly fail. Why?
Understanding what distinguishes the triumphs from the failures has been the life’s work of Oxford professor Bent Flyvbjerg. In How Big Things Get Done, he identifies the errors that lead projects to fail, and the research-based principles that will make yours succeed:
- Understand your odds. If you don’t know them, you won’t win.
- Plan slow, act fast. Getting to the action quick feels right. But it’s wrong.
- Think right to left. Start with your goal, then identify the steps to get there.
- Find your Lego. Big is best built from small.
- Master the unknown unknowns. Most think they can’t, so they fail. Flyvbjerg shows how you can.
Full of vivid examples ranging from the building of the Sydney Opera House to the making of Pixar blockbusters, How Big Things Get Done reveals how to get any ambitious project done – on time and on budget.
Time to Think. Listening to ignite the human mind by
Most people think they listen well, but they rarely do - not at this level. Listening this way is a radical act.
The power of effective listening is recognised as the essential tool of good management. In this book, Nancy Kline describes how we can achieve this, and presents a step-by-step guide that can be used in any situation.
Whether you want to have more productive meetings, solve business problems, create bold strategies, or build stronger relationships, this book offers you a new world of possibilities.
From blue chip companies developing high-powered teams to individuals seeking personal growth, a Thinking Environment has come to mean transformation of the highest quality.
Regulators of Last Resort. Whistleblowers, the limits of the law and power of partnerships by
ow do public whistleblowers prevail despite employers' attempts to silence them? Whistleblowing is essential for raising awareness of extreme wrongdoing within organizations yet, despite changing laws designed to offer more protection, workers exposed for public disclosures frequently find themselves the targets of extreme retaliation. Featuring high-profile cases from Amazon, Facebook and Theranos, Kate Kenny reveals the critical - and often unseen - role that skilled allies play in supporting whistleblowers when official channels fail. Novel and sophisticated means of silencing require new strategies for whistleblowing – and supportive partners are key. In this new era of whistleblowing, oppressive lawfare is used against truth-telling workers, and official channels can be weaponized. Yet powerful employers can still make mistakes. Regulators of Last Resort shows how aggressive reprisals can yield surprising advantages for dissenters. Working in partnership with advocates, public whistleblowers can find strategies to survive, persist and bring their disclosures to light.
The Guide to Reflective Practice in Conflict Resolution by
This book will help mediators incorporate the values and habits of reflective practice into their professional work in order to become resilient, resourceful, and competent practitioners. The second edition includes much more step-by-step instructions, user-friendly tools, worksheets, and practical guides for reflective practice.
Waste land. A world in permanent crisis by
A darkly brilliant, wide-angled vision of our chaotic, globalised world, where present crises resonate with past tyrannies―from a bestselling geopolitical expert.
We are entering a new era of global cataclysm; a deadly mix of war, climate change, great-power rivalry, rapid technological advancement, and the end of empire. In Waste Land, renowned world affairs author Robert D. Kaplan explains incisively how we got here and where we are going.
Kaplan’s trademark sweep of history, literature, politics and philosophy draws parallels between today’s challenges and those of Germany’s interwar Weimar Republic. Today, too, every national disaster could spread across the world, given this century’s singular dilemmas―pandemics, recessions; urbanisation, mass migration; destabilisation under large-scale democracy and great-power conflict; and the intimate bonds forged by digital media. Could stability and historic liberalism, rather than mass democracy per se, save world populations from anarchic breakdown?
Waste Land is a bracing glimpse into a future defined by twenty-first–century technology, but remarkably resonant with the past. The situation may be spiralling out of our control―unless our leaders act first.
The Resilience of New Public Management by
he Resilience of New Public Management examines the role and significance of New Public Management (NPM) in contemporary society, and explores its emergence and resilience.
Eminent scholars have said that NPM only existed from 1980-2000, and that we now live in a post-NPM world. This book tells a very different story. Evidence is presented in this book of 40 years of continuous NPM in public services, including government agencies, universities, and health care. NPM has diffused across sectors and globally since the 1980s, and in the process mutated to become modernization. It also coexists with alternative models of managing public services, including models such as digital era governance and network governance which were considered replacements for NPM. The capacity of NPM to mutate has caught many of its critics by surprise. This capacity for NPM to reinvent itself includes the adoption of Lean Management, the Toyota Production System. Early NPM adopter countries engaged with the use of Lean Management techniques, but late NPM adopters did not. The most recent alternative to NPM is Trust-based management, which has made significant advances in Scandinavian countries. However, Trust-based management is closely linked to proto-NPM and NPM practices and it has itself mutated to present itself as a friendlier and more supportive version of NPM, which at the very least deserves close scrutiny. The above trends are indicative of the resilience of NPM, and its intuitive appeal for policymakers. Its advocates argue that NPM has the capacity to deliver policy outcomes, but this book shows that such claims and aspirations are not always matched by the evidence of NPM in action.
The 9 types of difficult people. How to spot them and quickly improve difficult working relationships by
This book is for anyone who has experienced a difficult person at work. Revealing the 9 different types of difficult people, there's a quick quiz so you can work out the personality type you're dealing with, and how to communicate with them effectively.
Decode the warning signs through stories of each type
Discover practical tools and techniques for dealing with each type
Find short exercises to help you build the right mindset for success
Boost workplace relationships with videos and an online quiz
The Politics of Gender and Sexuality in Modern Ireland by
This collection of focused, cohesive and persuasive essays is based on the newest research on gender, sexuality and sexual politics. It offers historical reflections and contemporary analyses of issues related to the contested and often hidden histories of sexual politics and gender identities in Ireland in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Including but going beyond the binary of male and female heterosexual experience, the book explores LGBTQI+ histories, the treatment of intersex persons, and the history of trans people and activism in Ireland. As an interdisciplinary work, this reader draws together scholars working in a range of fields on innovative, new research on this theme.
Homelessness, liberty and property by
In Homelessness, Liberty and Property, Terry Skolnik establishes a novel theory about the government's duties to end homelessness, maintain public property's value, and legitimize laws that regulate public space. In doing so, Skolnik provides new insight into how the property law system and the regulation of public space limit unhoused persons' freedom and political equality. The book deepens our understanding of how various areas of law, such as constitutional law, legal philosophy, criminal law, and property law, approach the reality of homelessness and advances original arguments to provide new justifications for the right to housing. Skolnik concludes by offering a set of concrete proposals for how the government can reduce the incidence of homelessness and treat unhoused persons with greater concern and respect. This title is part of the Flip it Open Programme and may also be available open access. Check our website Cambridge Core for details.
Healthcare Economics Made Easy by
Master Healthcare Economics with Ease – Essential Reading for Healthcare Professionals
Are you a healthcare professional who needs to understand health economics but doesn’t want to get lost in complex theories? Healthcare Economics Made Easy (Third Edition) is your go-to guide. Written in a clear and concise style, this book equips you with the essential knowledge to interpret economic data, make informed decisions, and navigate health economics literature—without overwhelming detail.
What’s New in the Third Edition?
Fully updated insights on the NICE appraisal process
New sections covering Health Technology Assessment (HTA) in the USA
Key insights into the role of the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review (ICER)
Discover how economic principles shape public health policies, how evidence is assessed and valued, and what key statistics really mean—all in an accessible format. If terms like QALY, health utility analysis, or cost minimisation analysis leave you confused, this book makes them easy to grasp.
Acclaimed by Experts!
🏆 Highly Commended in the BMA Medical Book Awards
“One of the few textbooks I would suggest every clinician reads.” – BMA Awards Judge
Perfect for doctors, nurses, policymakers, and healthcare managers, this essential book ensures you have the economic know-how to support better decision-making in healthcare.
The Age of Neoliberal Absolutism. The rise of clan based governance by
The fall of communist regimes and the end of the Cold War marked the start of a new, regressive phase of the modernization process. This book explains the genesis and the spread of this veritable new form of government termed oikocracy.
It is characterised by transnational clan networks being the dominant social structures and the primacy of (private) economic interests over (public) political interests. As such, it supersedes traditional forms of government. Having originated in the most highly industrialised countries, this Neoliberal Absolutism no longer requires sophisticated ideologies or institutional propaganda, rather relying on the dynamics of a globalised world that facilitate an easy mobilization of the masses, and thereby expanding to the rest of the world.
This book suggests that in response, we have to develop new principles of government antagonistic to the existing ones and avoid solutions proposed by an increasing number of Western leaders.
Social policy and EU polity-building through crisis and beyond by
This volume sets out to explain the conditions that have favoured the expansion of the European social dimension during the turbulent decade of 2010–20, when Europe was confronting strong countervailing pressures, including the euro crisis, the refugee crisis and the COVID-19 pandemic. The study begins by diagnosing a widespread, although slow-burning, crisis across the European Union (EU) resulting from the cumulation of social problems and the systemic tension between EU market integration on the one hand and nationally bounded welfare states and the other. Eight in-depth case studies analyse the political dynamics behind a variety of EU social initiatives aimed at addressing the consequences of free movement of workers, youth unemployment, poverty, eroding wages, environment and climate change, and the COVID-19 pandemic. To identify the specific drivers of EU social policymaking empirically, the authors have reconstructed the struggles over concrete policy proposals as they unfolded in the European multilevel setting. The volume introduces a novel analytical framework for interpreting the transformation of the EU social dimension in times of crisis, when some degree of social co-ordination becomes crucial to bond deeply different (welfare) states together. This in-depth study offers an invaluable analysis for researchers, academics and professionals interested in the functioning of the European polity.
Policy over - and underreaction. Collected essays by
This book presents 12 pioneering essays and a novel introduction on policy over- and underreaction by Moshe Maor, a leading authority on disproportionate policy responses. Maor construes disproportion in an empirical rather than normative manner to improve our understanding of when, why, and how electorally vulnerable political executives and those operating in contexts of declining trust in government and rising negativity and populism resort to disproportionate policy measures.Covering topics such as policy over- and underreaction, intentional disproportionate policy, and policy bubbles, Maor argues that from a political executive's perspective, proportionate policy is not and should not be considered the ultimate policy aim under all circumstances. He sheds light on the alternative concept of deliberate disproportionate policy, along with the conditions under which such policy response is most likely to occur, and the political and policy benefits this policy offers to its initiators. In developing the disproportionate policy perspective, Maor offers a new way of ‘seeing'that does not align with any of the dominant policy process theories.This book is invaluable for students and scholars of political science, public policy, democracy and populism. It will also be of great interest to sociologists researching moral panic and economists studying financial bubbles, alongside government officials and policymakers worldwide.
Humble leadership. The power of relationships, openness and trust by
Discover a more agile, democratic, and effective model of leadership, from legendary business scholar Edgar Schein and Silicon Valley executive Peter Schein.
Legendary organizational scholar Edgar Schein and former Silicon Valley executive Peter Schein say leadership today requires that people transcend their hierarchical roles and relate to each other as human beings--what they call humble leadership. In such relationships new ideas can flow freely, mistakes can come to light immediately, and course corrections can be made in real time rather than "by committee" or by order of the lone heroic CEO.
This second edition includes three new chapters. Chapter 1 zeros-in on the Schein's actionable definition of leadership--relative to management and administration--focused on leading people toward "new and better." Chapter 2 introduces the concept of "situational humility"--leaders now need to shift between several types of relationships to deal with the accelerating complexity of a supply-constrained, "quiet-quitting," and "two-days-in-the-office" world. And Chapter 5 explains how to create a culture of humble leadership.
Illustrated with examples from healthcare, government, the military, tech, and more, this is a compact, accessible guide to a leadership paradigm far better suited to a world that demands fast, nimble response to change, and a workplace hungry for mutual respect and trust.
Communicating Climate. How to transmit your climate message and avoid greenwashing by
Businesses can no longer afford to stick their heads in the sand. The time to act is now. Cities are becoming unliveable, triggering migration patterns and resource shortages, in turn causing civil wars and conflict. Natural disasters like hurricanes and wildfires are simply becoming known as ‘weather’, and biodiversity is disappearing from our very eyes. The fact is, we won’t have a planet to do business on if we don’t act now. Climate change is already hitting our bottom lines, as the cost of natural resources, energy, and manpower skyrocket. It’s predicted to cost the world $20 trillion a year if we can’t keep global heating to less than 2 degrees Celsius.
This is a book about communicating climate: how to achieve cut-through, whether you’re trying to inspire your clients, get your shareholders on board, or simply showcase your progress in greening the world. This is not a greenwashing manual. It is about achieving balance in a world where we need to reduce our consumption, but also keep businesses functioning, just in a cleaner, greener, way.
Communicating Climate is packed with case studies, examples, tips and interviews from those leading the charge towards sustainability.
Digital leadership. Concepts and cases by
This pioneering book assembles chapter contributions from leading practice experts and academics to advance contemporary thinking on digital leadership. It examines the digital terrain across diverse industries and geographies, uncovering future pathways towards efficient business and management practice.
Digital Leadership explores the proliferation of emerging technologies on a global scale and the ways in which corporate executives have pursued opportunities to leverage skills, abilities and resources to find innovative revenue streams and gain a competitive advantage. The chapters present critical insights into emerging technologies and the impact of the digital economy on businesses, covering important areas including artificial intelligence, blockchain technologies, the Internet of Things, and augmented reality. They identify the challenges, opportunities and success strategies related to digital leadership in an international context, highlighting essential considerations for digital success.
This book is a fundamental resource for academics and practitioners in the fields of leadership, entrepreneurship, management, economics, information technology, and digital business. Executives, entrepreneurs, government officials, policymakers and consultants will also benefit from the book’s practical applications.
Futures for the Public Sector by
Thought-provoking analysis of how illiberalism, major crises and digital transformation are changing our politico-administrative systems. What does the future hold for the public sector? A convergence of illiberalism, major crises, system quakes and digital transformations are reshaping current politico-administrative systems. How will this challenge the way states and public administrations can and should be managed, and what will be the impact on citizen–administrative relations and our models of democracy? In this book, leading public administration scholars reflect on major trends in the public sector and their implications. They offer visions of how the academic field of public administration can respond to or anticipate possible futures. Ideal for policymakers, academics, and anyone interested in the future of governance, this compelling work reflects on how the forces transforming our world will impact the public sector.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Seventh Edition and the Standard for Project Management (ENGLISH) by
PMBOK® Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. The project management profession has significantly evolved due to emerging technology, new approaches and rapid market changes. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide: Reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); Provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; Includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; Focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and Integrates with PMIstandards+™ for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.
Routledge Handbook of Climate Justice by
The term'climate justice'began to gain traction in the late 1990s following a wide range of activities by social and environmental justice movements that emerged in response to the operations of the fossil fuel industry and, later, to what their members saw as the failed global climate governance model that became so transparent at COP15 in Copenhagen. The term continues to gain momentum in discussions around sustainable development, climate change, mitigation and adaptation, and has been slowly making its way into the world of international and national policy. However, the connections between these remain unestablished. Addressing the need for a comprehensive and integrated reference compendium, The Routledge Handbook of Climate Justice provides students, academics and professionals with a valuable insight into this fast-growing field. Drawing together a multidisciplinary range of authors from the Global North and South, this Handbook addresses some of the most salient topics in current climate justice research, including just transition, urban climate justice and public engagement, in addition to the field's more traditional focus on gender, international governance and climate ethics. With an emphasis on facilitating learning based on cutting-edge specialised climate justice research and application, each chapter draws from the most recent sources, real-world best practices and tutored reflections on the strategic dimensions of climate justice and its related disciplines. The Routledge Handbook of Climate Justice will be essential reading for students and scholars, as well as being a vital reference tool for those practically engaged in the field.
